About Registered in Nevada, US, and based in Silicon Valley, Rulai is an artificial intelligence company that provides customer service chatbots for companies across different industries.

Type: Artificial Intelligence

Team

Roger JinCo-Founder & CEOMaster in Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University. Roger previously worked with Visa and Oracle and is a serial entrepreneur. Prior to founding Rulai, Roger co-founded UnionPay Smart, a company specializing in financial big data analysis.

Yi ZhangCo-Founder & CTOProfessor in University of California, Santa Cruz. Her major fields of research include artificial intelligence, natural language processing, personalized recommendation system and machine learning. Dr. Zhang has took consultant roles for many corporations including Alibaba, Whirlpool, Toyota, etc, and was awarded National Science Foundation Faculty Career Award, as well as Research Gifts from Google, Yahoo, Microsoft, etc. Dr. Zhang holds a master and a doctoral degree in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University, as well as a bachelor degree from Beijing Tsinghua University.

What is your startup vision? Roger:My last startup experience was quite successful in China and since then I deemed myself as a technical entrepreneur, which is also why I wanted to do a technical startup in Silicon Valley. I believe that the age of artificial intelligence has arrived. With the advance in computing power over the past decade, companies are picking up internet technologies in their businesses, driving the need for a corporate AI solutions. The need for customer service increases as business sizes increase. To improve both the efficiency and cost of customer services, AI has a detrimental role to play and we deem US the right market for us to realize such vision. Hence, I founded Rulai with Zhang Yi. As a Professor Emeritus in the University of California, Santa Cruz, Yi has been longing to put her years of research to drive changes in the business world. As Chinese entrepreneurs with technical backgrounds, we desire to prove ourselves in Silicon Valley, the global frontier of technology.

What is the greatest challenge you have encountered in your startup road? Yi:The era for deep learning AI has just begun. Despite the strong interest from corporate users, the application of AI in a corporate level requires a step-by-step adoption process. We are approaching AI from a higher level, involving semantic understanding, semantic logics and even more complex semantic interaction. There exists many customer service chatbot providers in the market, yet theynever really tapped into developing a deep-learning-technology-driven service engine. We are confident that Rulai can excel in this area.

How has Zhong Wei Capital helped you? Yi:The entrepreneurial background of Zhong Wei Capital’s team has been helpful in advising us the differences between the China and the US market, guiding us to correctly position ourselves at various stages. As a startup in this pioneering sector, finding an influential user and endorsement is detrimental. In such regard, Zhong Wei Capital proactively connect us to potential clients in both China and the US. Further to client resources, Zhong Wei Capital also helped Rulai on brand building through its media resources, as well as connecting us with potential investors in subsequent fundraising rounds.

Why did you choose Zhong Wei Capital for investment? How is Zhong Wei Capital different from other funds? Roger: I was introduced to Patrick, one of the founder in Zhong Wei Capital, through an angel investor of Rulai. Instead of employing the parenting management style, Zhong Wei Capital has been more like a friend in terms of helping with our corporate growth. Shareholders of Zhong Wei Capital comprises of successful entrepreneurs and businessman from various industries. I think that Zhong Wei Capital’s shareholder resources and management team are great to help Rulai connect to quality clients.

www.rulai.io

关于 Rulai是一家注册在美国特拉华州的企业,公司团队位于硅谷。Rulai是基于深度学习人工智能技术的引擎基础所开发的在线智能客服机器人的平台系统。

类别: 人工智能

创始人团队

金天 联合创始人兼首席执行官美国卡耐基梅隆大学计算机系硕士学位和上海复旦大学学士学位,曾在Visa和Oracle有多年工作经验,是一位连续成功创业者,在创办Rulai前,曾联合创立银联智惠,并担任CEO,银联智惠是一家做金融大数据处理的企业。

张奕 联合创始人兼首席技术官加州大学圣克鲁兹分校的教授,主要研究人工智能、自然语言处理、个性化推荐系统和机器学习。曾担任多家公司的顾问,包括阿里巴巴、惠普、丰田等,并获得National Science Foundation Faculty Career Award 和Google、Yahoo、Microsoft等的Research Gifts。张博士是美国卡耐基梅隆大学计算机系的硕士和博士,北京清华大学学士。

你的创业愿景是什么? 金天: 上一次创业在中国,而且达到一定成功,一直认为自己和张奕为偏技术派系的创业者,因此想回到硅谷做基于技术主导的再次创业里程。我认为人工智能的时代已到来,在过去十年随着计算能力的大幅提升,企业科技互联网化应用度明显提高,企业及人工智能所驱动的企业解决方案的时代将来到,美国是非常适合去实现这个愿景的地方。现在企业的客服需求因业务增长越来越大,这使得企业的客服成本不断增涨,在未来新的时代和该领域内,人工智能将为企业提高效率降低成本,所以与多年的朋友张奕共同创办Rulai。张奕为加州大学终身教授,一直希望运用他本身在这领域多年积累研究出的“智慧”,真正为企业去实现、为用户带来巨大价值。我们作为技术背景的华人创业者,非常希望能在全球科技前沿的硅谷证明自己。

在创业的道路上面对的最大挑战是什么? 张奕: 深度学习人工智能领域的时代刚开始,企业用户虽感兴趣,但需要透过应用的论证一步步接受,并逐步去使用这种方式的客服机器人。我们是相对于高级别深度学习人工智能的科技研发,当中涉及到语意理解、语意逻辑,还有更为复杂的语意互动。市场上有很多所谓的客服机器人,过去也没有真正开发深度学习人工智能的引擎客服平台领域,所以对Rulai科技的研发具有挑战性,但对此我们非常有信心。

众为资本提供了哪些帮助? 张奕: 众为资本管理团队的自身创业经历给Rulai很大鼓舞,帮助我们分析中美市场的差异,找准企业不同阶段的定位。对于在这领域新的创业公司,寻找到一家有影响力产品的用户及背书颇为重要,众为资本的团队非常主动的推荐或转介该领域内国内和美国的潜在客户,帮忙对接业务资源。在这领域内有不少类似的创业公司,但Rulai是真正开发深度学习人工智能的引擎,来满足用户需求解决痛点。作为一家早期的创业公司,众为资本的团队通过媒体、公关资源协助Rulai建立对外品牌、提升领域内的企业形象,并在后续的募资上推荐了合适的潜在投资人。

为什么选择众为资本的投资,众为资本和其他基金有什么分别? 金天: 我与众为资本合伙人张永汉是通过一个好友及Rulai天使投资人介绍而认识,我认为众为资本能够非常友好的帮助企业成长,而不是自上而下的家长式管理。我相信众为资本的股东团队,对于Rulai之后的业务资源对接将带来很大帮助,众为资本的股东团队均是在各自领域成功的企业及企业家。加上众为资本管理团队的影响力,可推荐、介绍优质的客户资源使用我们的产品,帮助Rulai顺利寻找到目标客户。

www.rulai.io